Landlocked Austria sits in the heart of central Europe, bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, the Slovak Republic and Hungary in the east, Slovenia and Italy in the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. Part of the Alpine region, the majority of Austria is mountainous. In fact, only 32 percent of the country falls below 500 metres. Austria—once one of the most powerful countries in Europe under the Habsburg dynasty—is divided into nine provinces: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Wien.

How to get there?

Fly into one of Austria’s three major airports in Salzburg, Innsbruck or Vienna, the hub for Austrian Airways, which offers flights from 37 destinations within central and eastern Europe. British Airways also flies from London Heathrow to Vienna, as well as from London Gatwick to Salzburg and Innsbruck in winter. Travel by train throughout Austria on ÖBB, which connects cities like Vienna and Salzburg (less than 2.5 hours by rail).

  • Time Zone
    GMT +2
  • Population
    8.73 million
  • Capital
  • Official language
  • Currency
    € or EUR

EU citizens (and members of the Schengen Area) do not need a visa to visit Austria.

Cultural Routes in Austria

Six Cultural Routes — European Mozart Ways, the European Route of Jewish Heritage, the European Cemeteries Route, the Réseau Art Nouveau Network, TRANSROMANICA – The Romanesque Routes of European Heritage and Via Habsburg — cross through Austria, which is part of two EU macro-regional strategies: the Alpine and Danube Region.

European Mozart Ways

Mozart’s journeys span 10 countries and over 200 sites, including the towns of Lofer and St. Gilgen in the province of Salzburg.

Réseau Art Nouveau Network

The artistic movement that first made waves in Europe in the late-19th century ventured into Austria in the form of Sezessionsstil style. Wien is one of over 20 cities on the route thanks to architectural treasures like Otto Wagner’s Wienzeile homes.

TRANSROMANICA – The Romanesque Routes of European Heritage

The route runs through nine countries between the Baltic Sea and the Mediterranean, following figures like Martin Luther and Otto the Great highlighting Romanesque architecture that was a characteristic of medieval Europe. In Austria, sights include the early churches in Millstatt and the church peninsula, Maria Wörth.


Via Habsburg

The House of Habsburg was one of the most powerful royal houses in Europe, with an 800-year-old dynasty dominating large stretches of western and central Europe. The thousand-kilometre route covers 70 of these sites and cities in four countries, including Austria.

European Route of Jewish Heritage

The role of Jewish people in European history is celebrated in this route with spotlights on museums, monuments and memorials that are important in Jewish culture. In Austria, this heritage can be traced back to the 13th century in the area that is today’s Burgenland.

European Cemeteries Route

A number of Austria’s cemeteries fall along the European Cemeteries Route, including New Cemetery Mühlau and Western Cemetery in Innsbruck, as well as Central Cemetery in capital city Wien.

Google Translate